Skip to Main Content

Worship from Home

Daily Office and Christian Formation Resources

The Episcopal Church has had a long history of praying the daily offices of morning, noon, evening, and compline. Below are a few resources from the diocesan house and others for praying the offices on your own, with a group, or with your parish.

  • Morning Prayer Bulletins

    The diocese will begin offering PDF copies of morning prayer below in addition to Word and InDesign formats for our parish communicators. We hope that you may use them to build a routine of prayer on Sunday mornings should you not be able to attend worship in person.

    June 28, 2020 Word

    June 28, 2020 PDF

    June 28, 2020 InDesign

    Please note: This is the last week of our generation of weekly bulletins. Please check out your local Episcopal Church for in-person and online worship services.

  • Online Resources

    Mission St. Clare – Mission St. Clare has long been a resource for those praying the Daily Office. Their site is available in both English and Spanish.

    The Brotherhood of St. Gregory – The Brotherhood of St. Gregory offers an excellent online and app based daily office platform.

    BCPOnline – The online version of the BCP is a helpful resource in a pinch when a Book of Common Prayer is not available. It is available in a Spanish PDF here.

    Lectionary Page – This online resource for the lectionary readings is helpful when determining the readings for Sundays, feast days, and major saints days.

    St. Bede’s Breviary

    Oremus – Daily prayer, liturgy, hymns (audio) and prayer resources. Includes calendar of saints, lectionary, searchable Bible, and prayer requests.

    Forward Movement Daily Prayer – Forward Movement publishes small devotional booklets which some churches offer to their members. They contain a daily scripture text, a short meditation on that reading, a question to ponder, and three scripture readings. This online site provides these same daily selections for people to read and ponder online.

    The Anglican Cycle of Prayer (ACP) web site includes a one-reading-per-day lectionary, comprised of a psalm and Bible verses. All are invited to use this lectionary as part of their daily prayer and worship.

    Daily Prayer for All Seasons – Developed by the Standing Commission on Liturgy and Music, the prayers in Daily Prayer for All Seasons are presented according to liturgical season beginning with Advent and progressing through Christmas, Epiphany, Lent, Holy Week, and Easter. In addition, two sections are offered for Ordinary Time: Creation and Rest. The book also includes explanatory pages of how to best utilize the prayers.

    Thanks are due to William Simerly and The Rev. Carol Westpfal

  • Well-Fed Christian Formation Program

    This Lent, Christian formation leaders from across the diocese have worked on developing Well-Fed: Holy Food for a Reconciled Life. As your communities consider virtual worship, consider including Christian formation in that process with this online program.

  • Episcopal Relief and Development - Connections Page

    Episcopal Relief and Development has an excellent page on connecting in a time of an epidemic.

Churches Streaming Live

Should you wish to watch an Episcopal service and participate at home, the following churches stream their services online.

  • National Cathedral and Offerings of The Episcopal Church

    Worship from the National Cathedral.

    The Episcopal Church offers digital access to
    Holy Week and Easter Services
    [April 7, 2020] The Episcopal Church invites all to virtually join the congregation of St. Christopher’s Episcopal Church in Gladwyne, Pennsylvania, for a rebroadcast of their 2018 Holy Week services with the addition of new sermons, beginning with the Maundy Thursday service on April 9 through the Great Vigil of Easter on April 11, 2020. On Easter Sunday, the Office of Communication will live stream the service at the Washington National Cathedral. Consistent with his call for churches to practice physical distancing at this time, Presiding Bishop Michael Curry, will offer his Easter sermon via a video recorded earlier in the week.

    Additional offerings include sermons recorded by Bishop Curry for Holy Wednesday, Maundy Thursday, and Good Friday.

    Please see program offerings below for information on how to access each service or stand-alone sermon.

    Regarding the decision to offer a rebroadcast of services, the Rev. Dr. Hillary Raining, rector of St. Christopher’s, explains:

    “In this time of global pandemic when many of us are unable to attend worship in a physical church building, it is important to remember that Church is so much more than four walls. It is the mystical Body of Christ and as such, it can never be truly separated. Yes, we are physically distancing, but we are not spiritually distancing.

    “For thousands of years, the Church has been walking the scared path of Holy Week following in Jesus’ footsteps to the cross, tomb, and resurrection. This year will be no different. Through these services we join again in that journey and will find ourselves rejoicing anew in the Pascal Feast.

    “With the exception of the sermons, these videos were shot in 2018 by The Episcopal Church at St. Christopher’s in Gladwyne, Pennsylvania. Because of that, you will notice people not following the social distancing guidelines that we are now abiding by. Be assured that we did not put anyone at risk by trying to do live worship in large gatherings this year. We believe that these video worship aids will help us to enter into the fullness of prayer that the whole arch of this powerful week calls us to. Please feel free to add your prayers to these in holy reverence and worship as we join with Jesus in His Passion.”

    Program offerings

    Wednesday, April 8
    The Episcopal Church Facebook page and The Episcopal Church website
    Gospel of Mark reading from St. Christopher’s Episcopal Church, Gladwyne, PA
    7:00pm EDT | 6:00pm CDT | 5:00pm MDT | 4:00pm PDT

    Video of Bishop Curry’s Holy Wednesday sermon from The Church of St. Luke in the Fields, New York, New York available here (posted by 12:00pm EDT.)

    Thursday, April 9 – Maundy Thursday
    The Episcopal Church Facebook page and The Episcopal Church website
    Maundy Thursday service from St. Christopher’s, Gladwyne
    Preacher: The Rev. Callie Swanlund
    7:00pm EDT | 6:00pm CDT | 5:00pm MDT | 4:00pm PDT

    Livestreamed candlelight vigil on The Episcopal Church Facebook page
    With clergy receiving prayers in comments section
    8:00pm-8:00am (Friday) EDT | 7:00pm-7:00am (Friday) CDT | 6:00pm-6:00am (Friday) MDT | 5:00pm-5:00am (Friday) PDT

    Video of Bishop Curry’s Maundy Thursday sermon from The Church of St. Mary the Virgin, New York, New York available here (posted by 8:00 pm EDT.)
    (For information on viewing the Maundy Thursday service in its entirety, please visit The Church of St. Mary the Virgin website. The service begins at 6:00pm EDT.)

    Friday, April 10 – Good Friday
    The Episcopal Church Facebook page and The Episcopal Church website
    Good Friday service from St. Christopher’s, Gladwyne
    Preacher: The Rt. Rev. Daniel Gutiérrez
    12:00pm EDT | 11:00am CDT | 10:00am MDT | 9:00am PDT.

    Video of Bishop Curry’s Good Friday sermon from Church of the Heavenly Rest, New York, New York available here. (posted by 1:00 pm EDT.)
    (For information on viewing the Good Friday service in its entirety, please visit the Church of the Heavenly Rest website. The service begins at 12:00pm EDT. The service will be replayed 6:00pm EDT.)

    Saturday, April 11 – Holy Saturday
    The Episcopal Church Facebook page and The Episcopal Church website
    Holy Saturday service from St. Christopher’s, Gladwyne
    Preacher: The Rev. Dr. Hillary Raining
    9:00am EDT | 8:00am CDT | 7:00am MDT | 6:00am PDT

    Great Vigil of Easter service from St. Christopher’s, Gladwyne
    Preacher: The Rev. Canon Dr. Stephanie Spellers (Recorded in 2018)
    7:30pm EDT | 6:30pm CDT | 5:30pm MDT | 4:30pm PDT

    Sunday, April 12 – Easter Sunday
    The Episcopal Church Facebook page, Presiding Bishop Curry’s Facebook page, and The Episcopal Church website
    Easter from Washington National Cathedral
    Preacher: The Most. Rev. Michael Curry
    11:15am EDT | 10:15am CDT | 9:15am MDT | 8:15am PDT

    Video of Bishop Curry’s sermon available here, following livestream.

    Virtual choir video available here, following livestream.

    People choosing to participate on The Episcopal Church Facebook page and/or Presiding Bishop Curry’s Facebook page are invited to select each service’s Facebook Event option to receive a reminder shortly before the program airs. Facebook Event attendees will be able to comment and share their viewing experience with others around the world. Facebook Event links are available on the Episcopal Church website, the Episcopal Church Facebook page, and Presiding Bishop Curry’s Facebook page.

    All services will be available for on-demand viewing.

    Find additional seasonal resources from The Episcopal Church and partners hereand here.

    On the web:
    The Episcopal Church offers digital access to Holy Week services
  • St. John's Cathedral, Knoxville

    St. John’s Cathedral, Knoxville, has a long history of broadcasting the community television of Knoxville channel. They now stream on YouTube as well. Their Sunday bulletin is posted in their weekly email and we will update the upcoming Sunday leaflet when it is published. Their services begin at 10:30 am on Sundays.

    All services will be broadcast on community television and on YouTube. You can also watch these services after recording on YouTube. You can view community television on these channels:

    Xfinity (Comcast) Channel 12
    Spectrum (Charter) Channel 193
    WOW! (Knology) Channel 6
    U-Verse (AT&T) Channel 99

  • Church of the Ascension

    Church of the Ascension will stream their service on Facebook Live.

  • St. Paul's, Chattanooga

    St. Paul’s Episcopal Church in Chattanooga also streams their services. You can find their streaming channel and bulletin below.

     

  • Grace Church, Chattanooga

    Grace Church, Chattanooga streams their service on Facebook.

  • St. Elizabeth's, Knoxville/Farragut

    The crew at St. Elizabeth’s is going live on Facebook at 9:00 am Eastern! You can tune in below.

    Make sure to email William Simerly at gro.hcruhczilets@mailliw, for bulletins.

    Wednesday, Tenebrae, 7:30 pm on Facebook Live

    Thursday

    Morning Prayer, 9:00 am on Facebook Live
    Maundy Thursday, 7:30 pm on Facebook Live

    Good Friday, 7:30 pm on Facebook Live

    Saturday, Great Vigil of Easter, 8:30 pm on Facebook Live

    Easter, Sunday morning at 9:00 am on Facebook Live

    Stations of the Cross

  • St. Timothy's, Signal Mountain

    St. Timothy’s is leveraging multiple platforms to reach out to the community on Sundays and throughout the week.They’ve developed a landing page where you can find all their service information at https://sttimothysignal.org/.

  • St. James, Knoxville

    St. James will be streaming their services on Facebook Live! Their service is at 10:30 am.

  • Good Shepherd, Lookout Mountain

    Good Shepherd, Lookout Mountain will livestream their 10:30 am service.

  • St. Paul's, Athens

    St. Paul’s, Athens, will stream their services on Facebook at 8:00 and 10:30 am.

  • St. Peter's, Chattanooga

    St. Peter’s, Chattanooga, will livestream their service on their website at 10:00 am.

  • Church of the Good Shepherd, Knoxville

    Church of the Good Shepherd in Knoxville/Fountain City is going to host a Zoom meeting. Make sure to get on their email list to receive the invitation for worship.

  • Nativity, Ft. Oglethorpe

    Nativity, Ft Oglethorpe, will be streaming Compline on Monday-Thursday’s at 9:00 pm in English, and immediately in Spanish after that.

  • St. Luke's, Cleveland

    St. Luke’s, Cleveland will be using Facebook to livestream multiple services:

    • Morning Prayer on Sunday at 10:00 am.
    • Evening Prayer on Wednesdays at 6:00 pm.
    • Noon Prayer on Thursdays at 12:10 pm.

  • Good Samaritan, Knoxville

    Good Samaritan, Knoxville will be using Facebook and YouTube to livestream their services on Sunday at 11:00 am.

  • St. Paul's, Kingsport

    St. Paul’s, Kingsport will be posting a link to their Zoom Morning Prayer at 10:30 am. You can find information on their worship on their Facebook Page.

  • Trinity, Gatlinburg

    Trinity of Gatlinburg has a YouTube channel from which they broadcast their services. Check them out!

  • St. Thomas, Elizabethton

    St. Thomas, Elizabethton sends their virtual worship out via their email listing. Contact the parish to be placed on their email list.

  • St. Francis, Ooltewah

    Join St. Francis on Sundays at 10 am on Facebook live as they livestream their worship. Go to sfaec.org to download the worship booklet, scripture readings and hymns. All are welcome!

     

    Holy Week Schedule

    Go to www.sfaec.org for bulletins.

    Wednesday, April 8, 6:00 pm, Stations of the Cross

    Thursday, April 9, 7:00 pm, Maundy Thursday

    Friday, April 10, 12:00 pm, Stations of the Cross
    Friday, April 10, 1:00 pm, Good Friday Liturgy

    Saturday, April 11, 12:00 pm, Holy Saturday Service

    Sunday, April 12, 6:30 am, Great Easter Vigil

  • St. Stephen's, Oak Ridge

    St. Stephen’s, Oak Ridge, will be livestreaming their Sunday worship at 10:00 am each Sunday morning.

  • St. James, Greeneville

    St. James, Greeneville, has established a wonderful online page with resources for online worship from their community! Click below for their worship page.

  • St. Paul's, Seymour

    St. Paul’s, Seymour, has joined Facebook Live, streaming their mass at 10:30 am on Sunday mornings. Other offerings for Holy Week will be held at 9:00 pm on Thursday and a short Good Friday service at Noon on Friday.

As communities tackle various challenges, whether medical, weather, or even infrastructure, we hope to provide you with the means of maintaining the bond of community whilst remaining at home or away from East Tennessee. Below are a few collections of resources to help you worship either on your own at home or with particular parishes in our diocese.